The Phoenix Rises

A PEACE Of My Mind!

EYE OF THE STORM

Leave a comment

Down by the seaWashed up on the shore

Driftwood rests

In a slumbered state

That the storm didn’t want anymore
Polished by the waves and the rocks

Bleached clean by the salt and the sun

It had made its way across one end

Of the large ocean

To another end
Disappearing for a time

Till the storm was done
And made it back to land
The rains hit the desert

Leaving the cactus to drown

Turning it soft and brown

Until the sun came back

And dried up all the sand

Leaving the cactus to flower

And enjoy the land
But I never spoke

Never uttered a word

When you and I grew stronger

Coming out

From the eye of the storm
We held each other close

Stood tall in resolve

Never wavered in the winds
But when it was over

I don’t know why

We just moved on
Did you make it

To New York?

Did you see the skyscrapers?

And eat Chinese food?
I made it to the end

To see the sun set

I finally smiled

When I saw the palm trees

That lined my view
But I couldn’t help think

Where I’d had been

Without you

And getting stronger again
After arriving

Out of the eye of the storm.

COPYRIGHT 2017. FLEMMING ERIK CARLSON. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Author: Flemming Erik Carlson

I am a writer of all mediums. I am currently working on a variety of projects. I like to keep busy. I am currently developing a revolutionary new social media music app, finishing writing 3 science fiction novels, and producing my own album of music. I still perform as an actor, and stand up comedian from time to time. I am an actor, comedian, writer, satirist, director, and producer.

Leave a Reply

