The Phoenix Rises

A PEACE Of My Mind!

ROUND AND ROUND

Leave a comment

I go to a job that I really hate

And I look at my future

And wonder my fate
All I think about

Is if it really gets better

And I live an honest life

I cross my t’s, dot my i’s to the letter
But I wonder why things

Are so damn hard

I lost and trusted so damn much

Now I’m on my guard
I hate myself

I hate myself
But I want to love myself

I know that sad story so well

It’s time to put that book

Right back on the shelf
I should be farther ahead

But it’s like I’ve said

One step forward

Five steps back

What am I going towards

It don’t mean jack
I hate myself

I hate myself
I can’t look in the mirror

I don’t like what I see

I don’t need to be reminded

Of what I want to be
I can tread the untreadable waters

Hoping to make landfall

But it’s a big old world

And god damn I feel so damn small
It’s been a long war

I wait to find my peace

My rightful place in the sun

When the storms finally cease
I hate myself

I hate myself
Round and round

Running in place

Getting nowhere

Burning up space
It’s just the case
I hate myself

I hate myself
But I want to love myself

I know that sad story so well

It’s time to put that book

Right back on the shelf
I should be farther ahead

But it’s like I’ve said

One step forward

Five steps back

What am I going towards

It don’t mean jack
I hate myself

I hate myself
I’ll get up in the morning again

And do it all over again

I know it’s so emo

To only see when it rains
So I’ll play the game and not be the same

I’ll take another shot

Make another change

See what else this old guy’s got
I’m not bleak and I’m not weak

I’m very positive

But I just wonder where I am

And how much more I must give
I hate myself

I hate myself
COPYRIGHT 2016. FLEMMING ERIK CARLSON. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Author: Flemming Erik Carlson

I am a writer of all mediums. I am currently working on a variety of projects. I like to keep busy. I am currently developing a revolutionary new social media music app, finishing writing 3 science fiction novels, and producing my own album of music. I still perform as an actor, and stand up comedian from time to time. I am an actor, comedian, writer, satirist, director, and producer.

Leave a Reply

