The Phoenix Rises

A PEACE Of My Mind!

The Time

Leave a comment

THE TIME
How did we get here

Separate train platforms

In two different cities

Going to different places
I thought I saw your face

Watching me someplace

Before it hid back into the shadows

It must be lonely there

Where only your secrets know

Where only your secrets keep you company

When you play in the shadows

That live behind the wall
I’ll look at my watch

My train is late

Which is nothing new

My bags are now empty

I’ll travel light

Set my sights up in the sky

But I won’t fly

Cause I know I have to come down
These trains don’t come out this way anymore.

I’ll have to find my own path to go

I just don’t know where I am headed

So I’ll just walk as far as I can till I get it.
It’s getting late

And I’m getting tired

I thought I heard your voice

But I think I was sleeping

Because there’s no ghosts of the past on this little road

It’s so thin 

there’s room for only one
Oceans have bled

Into the horizon

I can see the ships

Waiting to come in

Just a little bit longer
I wonder where you stand

I wonder if your train

Ever left the station

If you ever got to your destination 
I had a dream

You were picking flowers

And put them in your pocket

To save them for cold and rainy day
I don’t know what I’m seeking

But it knows me

Very well

I could wait forever

But it’ll find me

Sooner rather than later

It’ll catch up to me
Soon

So very soon
So I’ll sit on this ship

And wait to sail

When the weather is good

I’ve got time

That train never came

But this ship is good
So good

Oh so very good
COPYRIGHT 2016. FLEMMING ERIK CARLSON. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Author: Flemming Erik Carlson

I am a writer of all mediums. I am currently working on a variety of projects. I like to keep busy. I am currently developing a revolutionary new social media music app, finishing writing 3 science fiction novels, and producing my own album of music. I still perform as an actor, and stand up comedian from time to time. I am an actor, comedian, writer, satirist, director, and producer.

Leave a Reply

