The Phoenix Rises

A PEACE Of My Mind!

How We Used To Be

Leave a comment

I saw you out and about
walking with him
Reminded me of us
and how we used to be

You were holding his hand
oh so tightly
You never held my hand
only to let me slip free

I don’t think that you’ve given
any thought
about us
and how we used to be

If anyone asks
you just blame me
But am I the only one who knows
how we used to be

I never lied
and I’m not about to start
Never really been so happy
since we’ve been apart

And how it used to be
maybe it was just me
And now I’m so free
And I just can’t see

How it used to be
You don’t feel
the same as me
at how it used to be

And the ocean tide
rolls right in
and drags the seashells
back out to the sea

And that’s how it’s supposed to be

Some days I get up
I can’t even function
Can’t raise a smile
So I go back to sleep

I know you don’t really care
the past is the past
But if I can make it
These days won’t last

And when I find her
The Queen of my dreams
She’ll get all of my attention
Cause that’s the way it should be

But until then
I’ll have to get up and fight
this lonely old battle
that lasts through the night

And the ocean tide
rolls right in
and drags the seashells
back out to the sea

And that’s how it’s supposed to be

So now It’s time I should go
I just wanted you to know
I hope he deserves you
unlike me

But that’s just the way
It’s got to be
The stars flicker and fade
That’s the way they’ll always be

And the ocean tide
rolls right in
and drags the seashells
back out to the sea

And that’s how it’s supposed to be
COPYRIGHT 2015. FLEMMING ERIK CARLSON. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Author: Flemming Erik Carlson

I am a writer of all mediums. I am currently working on a variety of projects. I like to keep busy. I am currently developing a revolutionary new social media music app, finishing writing 3 science fiction novels, and producing my own album of music. I still perform as an actor, and stand up comedian from time to time. I am an actor, comedian, writer, satirist, director, and producer.

Leave a Reply

