The Phoenix Rises

A PEACE Of My Mind!

Negativity

Leave a comment

Not too long ago. Me, “I’m gonna start a blog.” A girlfriend responds, “Why?” Me, “Because I’m a writer. I enjoy writing. I like to write all sorts of things.” She says, “Are you gonna get paid?” I say, “No. It’s my own blog.” She then says, “That’s dumb. Why do it if you’re not gonna get paid?” I say, “Because I love to write. I’m always writing. I love doing it. I can post what I think and feel at the time by writing something and sharing it on my blog. It will be therapeutic for me, and a creative outlet for something I enjoy doing. I can share it with other people. It makes me happy to do it.” Then she says, “That’s still stupid if you’re not getting paid. Why do something and waste your time if you don’t get paid?”
“Because I enjoy it. It makes me happy. I love to write. I write at home all the time anyway.”
She responds again, “That’s still dumb. Do something and spend your time where you’re gonna get paid.”
“This is for MY enjoyment.”, I say.
“I still think it’s dumb”, she says.
Yeah. That’s when I broke up our friendship with her. She called me “irresponsible”.
Never let negative people put you down for things you love and tell you no.

Author: Flemming Erik Carlson

I am a writer of all mediums. I am currently working on a variety of projects. I like to keep busy. I am currently developing a revolutionary new social media music app, finishing writing 3 science fiction novels, and producing my own album of music. I still perform as an actor, and stand up comedian from time to time. I am an actor, comedian, writer, satirist, director, and producer.

Leave a Reply

